Stories

Sort by: Most recent | Popular today | Popular this week | Most views all time | Most Liked Page 1 (1 - 12 of 274)
Tagged: Review (x)

Review

Story Image

Dead Space 2 Review!

By: Cinderkin Jan 25, 2011 | 20 Comments

Dead Space 2 has been released. Is it worth your money? Find out in the Gouki.com Review.

Dead Space 2 developed by Visceral Games and published by EA is a survival horror with a lot going for it. The original Dead Space was a great game, with monsters, creepy corridors, dark rooms, and a true sense of fear. Well Dead Space 2 is all of that and more.  How does this 2 disc sequel stack up to its predecessor? Find out in our review below.

Story

With an option to watch previously on Dead Space and find out what happened in the first game, the story in Dead Space 2 starts off slightly confusing. I’m sure that was the point as it’s been 3 years since the first game, and Isaac Clarke is now in a mental hospital strapped down in a strait jacket. Isaac is suffering from hallucinations from some illness and it’s making him see some crazy things, including images of his dead girlfriend Nicole. The last thing he can remember is what happened on the USG Ishimura. Isaac then escapes this hospital once Necromorphs break in. So it’s up to Isaac to survive the outbreak, find out what happened to him, and why these monsters have returned.

Read full story...

News

Story Image

Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds Review

By: Cinderkin Feb 14, 2011 | 21 Comments

It's been 11 years and Marvel vs Capcom 3 is finally here... too bad it's terrible. After all these years this is what Capcom has to offer? An unpolished game, broken game play, and and uninspired storyline. MvC3 is a complete disappointment. Find out why!

Now that I’ve got your attention, I just wanted to say that everyone on the Gouki.com crew loves Marvel vs Capcom 3.

Summary:

Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds is finally upon us. After 11 years of waiting since the release of the well-known and still played Marvel vs Capcom 2, Capcom and Marvel Comics unite once again. The 3 on 3 brawler is back and better than ever with 36+ characters, 100+ hyper combos, and dream match-ups galore. After spending well over 12 hours of straight Marvel vs Capcom 3 action the Gouki.com crew is still itching for more. Capcom and Marvel favorites such as Ryu, Chun Li, Captain America and Spider-Man return as well as adding some new faces to the games franchise like Dante, Arthur, M.O.D.O.K and Deadpool. Marvel vs Capcom 3 is something to be remembered.

Story:

Marvel vs Capcom 3 has an impressive storyline this time around. A great threat is upon the two worlds of Marvel and Capcom. Dr. Doom has gathered all the most evil villains of the Marvel universe, such as Super Skrull, Magneto, and Dormammu and joined forces with Albert Wesker in a plot to join their worlds in order to conquer them. That is until Galactus from the Fantastic 4 is awakened and threatens the entire earth. It is up to all of the heroes and villains to stop Galactus before he destroys both worlds and rules the galaxy.

Here is a video of a full Arcade run through, but check out Galalctus at 12:36!

Gameplay:

The gameplay of MvC3 is unlike the other vs series where the button configurations are of 4 buttons instead of your classic 6 button set up. What has returned from MvC2 is the 3 vs 3 2D action. Choose up to 3 characters from Marvel, Capcom, or a mix between and battle it out against a team of 3. Character assists return as well as hyper combos. What is new in MvC3 is the X-Factor, which is what you would call your desperation or clutch card. Activating X-Factor not only heals your fighter during battle, but also makes them stronger and gives them better defense. X-Factor lasts longer and is more effective when only 1 fighter of a team remains, but using it earlier has its advantages as well. Also new to the series is tagging out fighters within combos. Launch your opponent into the air to continue a combo and you can tag out to your next fighter making the combo even greater. Capcom has made MvC3 more accessible than ever with the new Simple Mode. Simple Mode allows those new to the vs series to be able to jump in with a simplified control scheme and still pull off insane combos, making Marvel vs Capcom 3 fun and accessible for beginners, advanced or any skill level.

Game Modes:

MvC3 has a good amount of modes this time around, and will suit everyone. There is your classic Arcade mode where you pick a team of 3 and fight through 6 stages before reaching the final boss fight. Arcade mode is your story mode for MvC3. Then you have Versus mode, which if you have friends over this will take up most of your time. 2 players each choose a team of 3 and battle it out for bragging rights among friends or each other. The Gouki.com crew played this mode the most and we still can’t get enough. New to the Marvel vs Capcom series is Mission mode. Mission mode is a list of moves and combos that must be completed for each character. There are 10 missions per character and they each get increasingly more difficult. Training mode has returned from MvC2, but is better than ever. Training mode is one of the best features in the game, because it allows you to not only mess around, but learn combos, tricks, and more.

Check out this video of me going through some of the trials with a few characters

Visuals:

MvC3 runs on the MT Framework in full 3D and is the most impressive vs game to date. It simply looks amazing. The colors, the lighting, the character models, even the stages are impressive. Capcom has really outdone themselves with MvC3. The game just looks too good. Each character is done is full 3D, with defining characteristics that truly sets them apart from anyone else in the cast. From The Hulk’s veins, to Wesker’s Jacket, every character has something that brings out their personalities; sprites are a thing of the past. The stages are wonderful with how each has things that make them stand out from the rest. Capcom and Marvel fans will notice little cameos and easter eggs in the backgrounds of the stages. MvC3 looks stunning.

Audio:

The audio in MvC3 is wonderful. The voice work for each character is done exactly how you would expect them. When you hear Captain America say “Avengers Assemble” it will put a smile on your face. The characters each have close to 60+ sounds and quotes that completely define them. Deadpool breaks the fourth wall with some of his quotes, and Ryu says things that you would expect from him. MvC3 also has quotes just based on character match-ups or team choices; it adds a nice touch to the voice work. The music is fantastic in MvC3 with character specific themes, as well as great menu themes. They even brought back the famous “Take You for a Ride” with a few remixes as well.

Online:

MvC3 has an online component that will please a lot of people, but also disappoint others. While MvC3 has Ranked, Player, and Lobby Battles which you would expect they dropped the ball on the 8-player lobby system. In games like Super Street Fighter 4 and Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo HD Remix, lobby play allows those not playing to be able to spectate the matches while they wait for their turn. MvC3 is missing this option as of right now, and hopefully will be rectified in a patch soon. Other than that the online is great. You can enjoy player matches to test your skills against others for fun, or you can jump in a ranked match and battle against the best for points. With online play MvC3 is going to give you a ton of replay value.

Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two worlds is one of the best fighting games ever made, and will give you a fun experience for years to come. With the possibility for DLC the roster could reach into the 50’s and we could see new modes, new stages, and plenty more. If you like fighting games, super heroes, or just having fun in general then Marvel vs Capcom 3 is the game for you. Don’t be a Jimmy and go out and get yourself a copy. Tell your friends to get it, you won’t be disappointed.

Bottom Line: BUY IT!

 

Community Deals

Story Image

PlayStation PLUS, is it worth it?

By: iorilamia Jan 30, 2011 | 22 Comments

PlayStation Plus is $50 a year, but what exactly do you get? Iorilamia explores PS+ DLC, specials and the value that it carries.

PlayStation Plus is 3 months for $17.99 or  one year for $49.99. Doesn't seem too bad, you can imagine you're paying for something like XBL. Here are the cool perks you get. Or don't get ...

Each Month/Week- Free PSN games, minis and PS One Classics from the PSN Store. Dynamic Themes, avatars and add-ons (basically dlc)

Sucks because, Usually the PS1 games are crap games you most likely didn't play or want to play. Mini's are short-term games you would play on your cell phone usually . Free PSN games are basically games that are about $2-$15 for regular users and suck most of the time. The add-ons are mainly for random games you most likely don't have, and it's not always free. Avatars and themes...cool. Also the games are not their forever. One decent discount/free game can be up for a week, and the next few months will be complete trash games. And wtf, ps1 games are cool but they are backward compatible, the latest version of ps3 can only play like 10% of ps2 games, those should be what they are giving you.

You do get to try demos before regular users do and you get discounts on psn games.

Here is why I hate PS+ the most. Once you stop paying for it, you loose everything except avatars and themes (the lamest part of PS+...) I don't get it. You get "free" games you just paid 50 bucks for and they are all complete ASS, since you think your getting a good deal you go download and discount buying happy over thins you normally would never buy and if you don't keep paying, you loose the few games you actually did enjoy. Heres the thing, if you re-start your subscription, you get all your stuff back. I want you to keep your eye on PS+ deals (because they can be nice sometimes) Along with the PSN weekly Tuesday update, IGN covers all the deals for you.

What do you guys think about PS+? Have you tried it? Do the games sound appealing to you?

The reason I did not buy it: because I was following IGN's updates for a while to see if it was for me...most of the "free" games your getting are only worth a few bucks and aren't something I would spend time playing. Most not all. So in the end it would be a waste of money for me, especially since I don't care about themes,avatars or demos for games I'd never buy. Not being able to keep games is stupid. Also I have a few friends with it, after I saw a lot of the junk they downloaded I was further convinced into not caring about PS+. Flush it!

And now  Cinderkin, the internet explodes.

Source- http://blog.us.playstation.com/2010/06/24/playstation-plus-your-questions-answered/

Review

Story Image

Golden Video Review Tron Evolution with FNJimmy

By: goukijones Dec 21, 2010 | 13 Comments

FNJimmy plays and reviews Tron Evolution. Walkthoughs, technique, offensive strategies, cycling tips and combat maneuvering that had the developer's shitting their pants.

This is FNJimmy at his finest. All original FNJimmy gameplay. Can you count how many deaths?

  • FNJimmy shows off incredible free running including complete walkthroughs of some of the most challenging free run areas in Tron Evolution. 
  • Combat strategies and in-depth button combinations will carry your game to the next level. FNJimmy explains everything! 
  • Gaming is reborn with the new Tron bikes in Tron Evolution and FNJimmy has all of the cycling tips you will need to unlock 1 achievement. 
  • Pesky tanks in Tron challenging you? Check out FNJimmys parkour bomber style offense in this exclusive boss battle.

One of the most controversial final verdict's ever on Golden Review.
Don't miss it! And thanks for watching. Please leave a comment.



And I quote. "See you in space muthafucka's!" From FNJimmy.
Dead Space 01/25/2011

Read full story...

Community Review

Story Image

Review: Mario and Luigi: Bowsers inside story

By: grey walrus Jan 26, 2011 | 15 Comments

I recently got through playing this game, and wanted to write up a review explaining how I feel.

So I've played the Mario and Luigi games that came before this one, and loved both. I even went back and replayed superstar saga after I finished it, but unfortunately I didn't feel the same about this one. It was as if something was missing, or perhaps something was there that shouldn't have been. 

Story: The story was actually pretty good. You start off in a meeting at Peaches castle in order to try and find a cure for a mysterious disease that has struck the mushroom kingdom .The Blorbs. It's making all of the Toads bloat up like party balloons and nobody knows how to get rid of it. A strange turn of events takes place in which Bowser is tricked into eating a strange mushroom which makes him inhale everybody at the meeting. Once inside Bowser it's up to you to find everybody else and help Bowser in his quest along the way. 

The comedy was still there for me too. If you liked the charm and wit of the first two games I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Gameplay: This is where the game lost me. It's basically the same as the last two. Nothing really that groundbreaking as far as the combat goes, and even that's fine with me. My real irk with the gameplay is Bowser. Sure it sounds awesome at first. "Yay! I get to play as Bowser" I thought to myself with child-like enthusiasm, but halfway through the game my thoughts had drastically changed to "Why the hell am I still playing as Bowser?" It's just not the same. I thought I wanted what the game was advertising, but I was wrong. I have to admit there was an hour or so towards the end of the game in which I was having a blast, but it was only because I was playing as Mario and Luigi, but that was taken from me almost as soon as I started to have fun. 

It wasn't all bad though. Some of the new special moves were pretty entertaining. Especially the one where you fed a bunch of food to Luigi and threw him at your enemies. 

Graphics: The graphics are about the same as we've come to expect from the DS. Nothing really spectacular going on. It looks pretty much the same as Partners in Time did. The lack in a variety of enemies was fairly disappointing to me though. Most of the time I felt as if I was just fighting the same thing over and over again, and I don't remember feeling like that in the first two games. The environments inside Bowser get a bit stale too. They don't really change much. However in the mushroom kingdom you get to see some different places and a few of them are pretty cool. I particularly liked Bowser's castle.

Music and Sound Effects: The sound effects were pretty good, and the music helped keep a delightful feel around everything that was going on. The gloomy parts in the game sounded gloomy, and the happy times felt happy. I don't really have that much to say on the subject other than that. Nothing really wow'd me, but nothing left me feeling disappointed either. 

Final Judgment: All of the elements of another great Mario and Luigi RPG seemed to be there, but the gameplay hindered it way too much for me. I'm not saying that it's a horrible game, but it didn't pull me in like the other ones did. Towards the end of the game it felt like a chore, but if you're a fan of the series at least give it a shot. It's not the game for me, but it might be for you. 

 

                                                                                RENT IT

Review

Story Image

Mindjack Review!!!

By: Cinderkin Jan 18, 2011 | 15 Comments

It's time to get your mind jacked! Is this game worth your hard earned dollar? Find out in the Gouki.com Exclusive Review.

Let us describe Mind Jack for you in one word. That word would have to be “Awful”.

Mindjack is a game developed by Feel Plus and published by Square Enix. Which means already that the game is probably not going to be very good, but why is it awful? With Gears of War controls, Resident Evil camera controls, and classic Japanese story telling you’d think Mindjack would be a complete success. Well unfortunately it’s not. This review is going to be slightly different than the rest mainly because If I didn’t explain this game in a step by step manner, then you wouldn’t believe what I’m about to tell you.

Let us start off with the very beginning of the game. The cinematic is very much the same as in this trailer save the promotional messages.

After that is over the game then goes into the Mindjack press start screen. where your only option is to choose Rebirth. Hit rebirth and the game literally starts you to an empty room with 3 computer screens and a man. It is a basic tutorial mode, showing you how to move the camera and yourself. Then it teaches you how to mind hack, and bam achievement unlocked. Mind you I haven’t even reached the main menu of the game yet. Once I hack into the man standing there, they then want me to hack into a computer. Once that is completed bam another achievement and the game takes me to the Mindjack main menu. Now I can choose my options, setup, xbox live matches, or campaign. I chose the campaign and this is where the game just loses me. You start as this guy (Jim) in an airport terminal. You’re looking for a girl named Marie. Once the cut scene ends you take control of Jim and are tasked with following Marie. Note that at this point the only thing you can do is walk and roll. You reach Marie and a cut scene ensues where you start fighting some random guy, and to make things worse it’s the most action I’ve seen in the game so far and It was a damn cut scene. After a few more cut scenes the game lets you actually play. With a pistol in hand you’re tasked with taking out all of the enemies on screen. This is where the game is supposed to be fun, but instead gets worse. Mindjack is all about multiplayer for some odd reason. Even in your single player campaign anyone can hack into your game and join the enemy team. Therefore impeding your story progress, and stopping you from having a good time. I’m playing the game and some random guy jumps in my game (lv 14) and destroys me with rockets. Mind you I’m only a lv 1 character. What kind of bs is that? Once I died the game took me to a game over screen and I quit right then and there.

Read on further for the games full breakdown

Story

Mindjack takes place sometime in the future where a new technology that allows people to hack into your mind is common thing in the military. You play as Jim some dude who can’t seem to stop yelling. You also have a partner named Marie, but is called something else. I don’t know it’s confusing. Anyway from what I gather Jim is getting his life back together and is now taking on missions for someone named Lilo. That is as much of the story as I know, because quite frankly I refused to play anymore of this game to find out.

Gameplay

The gameplay in Mindjack is very much like the Gears of war franchise. Aiming is done with the left trigger, shooting with the right. Running and Cover are mapped to the A button, and reloading is done with the right bumper. That being said, Mindjack has a great control scheme and it works very well. It can feel a bit clunky at first but within a few minutes you will feel right at home. It’s just too bad everything else about this game sucks. The mind hacking is just weird. You are fighting for your life and the next thing you know your down, and have to hack into a different body to continue. Hacking into anyone will automatically give them a pistol. So the lawyer who is cowering in fear during a shootout will get mind hacked and join the fight with guns and all. It just doesn’t make sense. The multiplayer component can be turned off, but the game stills plays as if it’s on. You could be in the middle of a firefight and then pause the game. The game shows that it’s paused, but everything is still going on. So if you take a bathroom break, be prepared to return looking at a game over screen.

Visuals

The game looks decent. Nothing too bad about it, reminds me of FF13 but with less detail. The character models are what you would expect from a Square Enix title. The environment is detailed nicely, for a game that is all about shooting and hacking.

Audio

The game has some of the worst audio in a game to date. The voice work is cheesy, and not to mention just boring. Jim is always yelling, but it sounds like he’s just talking. It’s awkward, and unpolished. When the two main characters are having a conversation Jim acts as if he is a football field away, and Marie talks as if she is right next to Jim. Makes no sense.

Online

The online multiplayer is just dumb. There is no death match or capture the flag modes you would expect. It’s just hacking into someone’s single player campaign and either helping them or hurting them. Which means that the multiplayer will only last a week before it is a complete waste of time.

Mindjack is a complete pile of garbage and should be classified under the category for Jimmy Ass Game! Do yourself a favor and stay away from this game. Don’t try and play it, don’t try to rent it. If someone asks you to play it they are not your friend. It is one of the worst 360 games I’ve ever played. This is 2011 Jimmy! Square enix is losing it.

Bottom Line: FLUSH IT!

Community Review

iorilamia

Bulletstorm demo review

By: iorilamia Jan 25, 2011 | 18 Comments

Short but sweet.

The game looks just like the promotional YouTube videos, theirs blood and limbs everywhere! The feel of the game runs smoothly and killshots are...basically everything. Doing random shit and getting points and cool names for it is amusing. I found myself getting "Voodo Doll" majority of the time by randomly using the Leash. The leash is a nobrainer really, you can turn the corner, randomly use it homes to nearest opponent. Its charged versions does a AOE gravity thing and everyone flies up in slomo, good shit. In the end, I thought about the full game. I am a multiplayer oriented person and I accepted the fact of no PVP, the game will be extremely fun co-op but...the skill shots are what intrigues you the most and doing cool shit, it might get annoying playing online and getting kill stolen when your trying to pull off something beastly.Got home, downloaded the demo and played it right away. Honestly, I am impressed. The demo is short and a little bit linear, but its full of fun. It's you  the chick and the cyborg black dude running around killing stuff. There is a good amount of enemies and the NPC on your team don't really seem to kill steal you during the demo, good shit. You run around this weird planet/spacehip and encounter mutant dudes. 5 weapons are available. The Peacemaker Carbine, Flail Gun, Leash, a minigun you can pick up and fling shot. The Carbine works like you thought it would, pretty bread and butter automatic rifle. It (like every other weapon) has a charge version that basically shoots out a beast shot that guarantees a kill on the enemy. The flail gun is a pistol but in its charge version it is like a Flare Gun and the fling shot wraps around enemies, the charge versions has bombs around it that blow them up.

Basicallly I reviewed the demo like this

Grahpics- top fucking notch, the game runs and looks beautifully.

Gameplay-perfect. Controls are easy and mapped well, after you kill like 2 enemies you got it. Npc's were super dumb, but its a demo, they should be. and they can take a hit, if you have bad aim and spam shots at someone, good chance they will get up, and that I really like.

Demo Presentation- Short but really made me want more. You get a good variety of weapons and a real feel of the game as you run around this...weird broken down world/ship?

In the end, I'm gonna end of buying the game, already had it pre-ordered ;D Buy it!

The demo also had some extra goodies. It shows you your friends scores on a leader board and you can also check the whole leader board but, there were some pre-order bonuses also.

After beating the demo it tells you congrats for beating it, and you unlock Boots and Armor and something different about the Leash for when you buy the full game...that's like half of the pre-order deal (especially for us PS3 users T_T). But all in all it was fun as hell, hope you guys play it too and write about what you thought....unless your playing Dead Space 2, have fun ;)

Gameplay footage includes: Spider-Man smashing into a wall, stuck falling in the sky for 5 minutes, swinging from nothing and getting shot. Funny.

Review

Story Image

Brutal Legend review

By: BatRastered Sep 25, 2009 | 14 Comments

After some hands-on with Brutal Legend, what's the verdict?

Editor's Addition

----------------------

Click here for the Brutal Legend Giveaway!

----------------------------------------------------------

Rent It

Brutal Legend is a good looking game with some serious production values. It's basically a hack-and-slash 3-d platformer mashup. The animation is great and the dialogue and voice acting (featuring Jack Black) are top-notch. You can certainly expect some laughs while playing through this game. It feels like you're controlling a Jack Black animated feature.

You have two basic weapons, your axe and your guitar. Your axe functions much like you'd expect it to, with decapitated and bisected enemies strewn about in its wake. Your guitar allows you to shoot either some sort of lightning, or pyro effects. The pyro allows you to knock enemies up in the air, where you can knock them out baseball style with your axe.

The controls are tight while on foot, but tend to get a little loose when you're in your vehicle. Like most third person 3-d games, this one too suffers from some camera issues. There are options to set the camera speed, and those help, but a re-center type button would've been nice. One of the boss battles has you driving your car, but the camera is panned out and not behind you which creates a bit of steering trouble (for me anyway).

The finished game also includes a muliplayer mode, which should add some replayability to this title.

If you like the hack-and-slash or 3-d platformer genre, I'm sure you won't be dissapointed with this game. Me, I love everthing about this game, except playing it. It's really not my style, game-play wise. I'd love to watch someone else play through it. I would definitely try before you buy, especially if you have an XBox live gold account, as you can download the demo right now, for free. If you're one of those people who loved Psychonauts so much that you still talk about, well, WTF are you doing reading this, don't you have a pre-order to pick up?

icon icon Brutal Legend releases October 13, 2009. Pre-order now.

Review

Story Image

Enslaved Odyssey to the Nubfarm review

By: goukijones Dec 14, 2010 | 6 Comments

Another adventure, beat-em up game. Enslaved tries to pull in features from other games, how well does that work? I will tell you, I beat the game in 1 sitting. About 6 hours. Here's my review ...

Remember Randy Pitchford said he loves this game. You have to comb every corner of the Enslaved world and pick up little orange orbs that are like money in the game. You can talk to your partner chick (Who's name is Trip and she is kinda hot. For being all smelly and dirty.) Trip has this wonderful store she can access, full of upgrades to your health and shield. She can also mod your weapon and teach you new fighting moves. Weird how you are running for life with this chick and she has all this stuff with her, but makes me BUY IT. Sad face. Anyway back to the collecting the orbs and Randy Pitchford, did you enjoy picking up every single dollar on the ground in Borderlands?! Please in Borderlands 2, can my guy just automatically suck up whatever money he runs over.

When I watched the FNJimmy golden video review Enslaved Odyssey to the West. I knew I had to play Enslaved. I did and I beat the shit out of it. I had all the moves the main guy can unlock by level 4 or 5. Pro-tips: I don't ever level health or shield or armor in these games early on or most games for that fact. I believe that if you are good in the combat you don't need to worry about your health. Needless to say, I was beating the shit out of these things fairly easy. Which brings me to the enemies. There are only 4 types of enemies. Mechs, which is exactly what they call them in the game, come out in a few different classes. All railable immediately if you knew what you are doing with the combat. Giant dogs, which are called .. dogs. I know what you are thinking. There is one giant Rollie Pollie boss fight. Another scene you fight scorpions, which in the game are called scorpion mechs. lol.

The game is easily PWNable in 8 hours or less. The characters are the best part of this game. They are all well acted, well voiced and well written. I laughed a few times when the writing in the game made fun of how stupid the gameplay is. Platforming rig comes out of the side of the building and there's a switch at the top - hit switch. Another platforming rig on the other side of the symmetrical building comes out with another switch at the top. "Oh are you kidding me with this crap?" Says the main character. I like that stuff. I didn't mind doing those chores in the game because I got a little laugh out of them once in a while.

The final battle was worth the play through for me and the story ending wasn't that bad either. Like I said, the game has good writing. FNJimmy told me he beat the game and it was only 12 chapters. Well when I was on chapter 14 and 4am playing this, I knew I was fucked. Still some of the best platforming comes in at the end of the game. The puzzles and the combat were still all bullshit. The ending is definitely a highlight for the game and I don't mean when the actual credits roll.

The combat is the major problem here, it's bland and aggravating. Even while blocking I would take a pounding. It was real difficult to keep control of the fights. The camera is definitely not your friend at all while playing Enslaved. With the combat it just came down to timing special moves, when I knew I could use them most effectively. To just smashing the X or Y button, because any type of chain combo with two buttons did nothing sepcial. Smash on X until your "Rod" glows then hit Y. The Jimmy does this awesome 10 hit combo. It's completely automatic and goes in whatever direction you're facing. Pretty bad. The A button also got worked over pretty well. The platforming that some might say LOOKS like Uncharted 2, PLAYS nothing like Uncharted 2. As long as you're smashing the A button and rotating the thumb stick toward which ever way you wanted to go, he just jumped. No big deal, hanging from the side of moving air-trains or dangling over bottomless pits. The main guy would jump and catch on, or swing through, with out ever being in any danger. Unless he was getting shot at, but c'mon, nubfarm.

I beat this game in 1 sitting. Call what you will, I call it PWNn. I wouldn't waste your money on this game. It's already at a very low price, but it's not even worth it. There's tons better stuff for you, that you could be playing right now! Why are you even reading this? Enslaved Odyssey to the West get a ...

Flush it!

Read full story...

Review

Story Image

Review Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

By: BatRastered Oct 27, 2010 | 14 Comments

A new chapter in the Starkiller saga, does it live up to the hype?

The first Force Unleashed game did not get very good reviews, and I almost didn't play it. I'm glad I gave it a chance though. It turned out to be one of my favorite Star Wars games. I'm really not sure what it is about these games that some of the mainstream press doesn't like but I've heard some mixed reviews of the sequel already.

If you've played the first game, you already know how this works. You are Starkiller (or are you his clone?), and you can smack down waves of stormtroopers with your lightsabers (yes, you are dual wielding now) blast enemies out of the sky with force lightning, push them off the side of a bridge, or, new to the sequel, Jedi mind trick them into attacking their friends or committing suicide. You can link all these talents together to produce some awesome combos. They really got the combat right with this, it is great fun to take on waves of enemies.

The baddies themselves are a little less varied than the first game, but there's more than enough here to keep you busy. Stormtroopers are your basic fodder, they are trivially easy to destroy even in large numbers which helps you pull off some cool looking moves. There are also riot troopers who can block your lightsaber attacks, but are vulnerable to force powers. Sith acolytes are strong force users who can block your force powers but are vulnerable to you saber attacks. When the level designers throw a pack of both Riot troopers and Sith acolytes at you at the same time, things finally get interesting. Add in a lumbering shielded droid that shoots carbonite into the mix, and you will be really tested.

The first Force Unleashed was a decent looking game, but it pales in comparison to the Force Unleashed II. The textures on all the enemies are much improved and the in-game cut-scenes look incredible. There are occasional pre-rendered cut scenes too, they look incredible of course. Technically, everything has been upgraded from the first game, the loading times are much improved and the menus are much simpler and easier to use. The music is exactly what you'd expect in a Star Wars game, featuring your favorites you know and love.

The game is not overly long, but it's not too short either. My first playthrough (on normal difficulty) lasted about 7 hours.

The story was one of the strongest points of the original game. I still say I like it better than any of the movie prequels. Given the ending in the original it's understandable that the story suffers a bit now as there are a few contrivances (are you or aren't you a clone?) but it still holds up pretty well. Lucasarts did leave room for another sequel with the ending this time, I guess they learned that lesson, but it does cost this story a little bit. Overall, I still enjoyed it quite a bit more than any of the prequel movies, so if your a Star Wars fan, this alone should be a selling point.

The only negative things I can really say about Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II are that the cut scenes are not skippable and the game doesn't have much replayability unless you either like going through a second time to get a different ending or to try a higher difficulty.

Verdict: Buy it.

Review

Story Image

Dead Space 2 Golden Video Review

By: fnjimmy Feb 19, 2011 | 23 Comments

Finally ... Thaaaat Fuuuuckin' Jimmy has returned ... with a NEW Golden Video Review. This time I play Dead Space 2 and I never played the first. One. But I will.

I am the best gamer on the site and other sites. Number 1 in the Gaming. I beat iorilamia at Mavrel VS Capcom 3 and Milky Pink? Don't try and draw me, you can't see me. I am the best there is and the best there was and I will be the best there ever will be. Don't be a uhhhhhh Reach? Me?

Dead Space 2 Golden Video Review

P.S. If anyone wants to challenge me send me a friend invite on Xbox Live or PSn3. FnJimmy and that's gouki.com/fnjimmy that's right reh-tard /fnjimmy.

1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 Next >>

Trending Video Games

 
Fantasy Sports for Wrestling
Ryu 1:4 Statue
Follow Us
FFXIV Original Websites
FFXIV MasterDotL
FFXIV Mogslist
FFXIV Macro
File Backup Service
Back it Here logo
Facebook
Ad

Gouki websites: Video Games | Wrestling